Meddling with a Wisp

Hi guys and gals from across the pond,

Firstly I'm a complete two stroke novice, so I apologise if I ask daft questions. I set out to buy a wisp as a quarantine project (ended up with 3), to make things worse I've bought the 66cc Airsal kit hoping it will get round the wisp gearing issues. My question is, can I fit an AV89 head, are the cast mounts roughly in the same place as the ones on the earlier tear drop head? Would it fit between the frame mount or need machining to width? Is this a really bad idea?

Thanks in advance,

Tom

IMG-20200425-WA0003.jpg

Re: Meddling with a Wisp

Did you pull that one out of a forest, or is it green spray paint?

Jeremy Homser /

The mounting location on the cast mount heads are not going to line up without some work. You might be able to reuse the old mount bracket on a newer head

> Jay Rivett Wrote:

> -------------------------------------------------------

> Did you pull that one out of a forest, or is it green spray paint?

Yeah, it got pulled out of an evergreen hedge, seized solid but the seller wanted me to have it as it has a complete carb and a stand. I can't get near it without getting covered in sap!

Cheers Jeremy,

The plan is to fit a stuffed crank, kit and maybe the av89 head. I'm not planning on this being a high speed bike, I haven't got that much of a death wish, just better acceleration.

Also the meddling isn't just restricted to the engine!

20200728_154518.jpg

> Tom Boyd Wrote:

> can't get near it without getting covered in sap!

Sounds like it's time for a hot pressure wash . ;)

> Tom Boyd Wrote:

> Cheers Jeremy,

>

> The plan is to fit a stuffed crank, kit and maybe the av89 head. I'm not

> planning on this being a high speed bike, I haven't got that much of a

> death wish, just better acceleration.

>

> Also the meddling isn't just restricted to the engine!

Now this is going to be cool... :)