First project

I have never worked on a moped before. I'm thinking I would like to build a daily driver nothing crazy. If I could get 40mph It be good enough. I would prefer reliability over speed. I would like to have it look like this grey bike. If you could all help me choose the parts and help me make the right decisions I would really appreciate it. Thanks in advance for your help.

images.jpeg

Re: First project

Tweaker trash /

Go buy a puch maxi with an e50

Cristian Luna /

Thats a good looking 40t! 40 mph is do able on a stock cylinder assuming you have the C cylinder but it will take some work the biggest thing is porting the cylinder theres a lot of info on it in the wiki. With all that being said since this is the first moped you're working on just try to get it running first check out freds guide also in the wiki and enjoy that for a while before diving in to it stock mobys are some of my favorite bikes

Uh oh. Frenchy= bad first bike.

And reliability is gonna be tough, other than that. good bike!

First you need to find out what speed model you have. Get it running, then a rebuild with crank seals. brake pads tires and motor mounts. next get a 15/15 dellorto Sha carb and a range of jets, the stock gurtner carb is a pain and the dellorto is good enough to get you to your target speed or more. If it's a slower model youll need to source a variator and hack the swing restrictor and spring. As well as a new cylinder or porting it yourself.

After all that you can look into making it faster. Looks like that example bike has a 70cc kit and circuit exhaust.

JOE - check with the goodly folks at Psyclomoteur Montreal for suggestions, helps, ideas and guidance from the local folks near you. Jesse, Jodie and the gang will be a most excellent resource for technical advice as well as finding parts, etc.

Ils sont sur Facebook :)

https://www.facebook.com/groups/psyclomoteur.montreal/ (edited)

40v actually.

IMG_20200320_174126.jpg