First time DR kit - Hobbit

So I got all the parts for my 78' PA50ii...DR kit, super stuffy crank, Boyesen carbon reeds and seals/bearings with a bigger carb jet. Already have a circuit pipe on. It's my first time doing this extensive of work so I wanted to throw up a post getting any advice or experience I can before I dig in. Thanks all!

2020-01-03 19.00.13.jpg

Re: First time DR kit - Hobbit

Don't use stock head

Get the best cooling head you can.

It makes a huge difference with longevity

I was gonna get the derbhobbit head from treats cuz I heard it has the best cooling aside from going liquid. Thoughts? Super street or sport touring?

I stand by what I said.

It's up to you to make the choices

Jack Rutherford /

Get a better head than the stock one.

Sport touring should run cooler. and "beware, you may need to cut a little bit of the fins to get the head to clear the frame/tank/petcock. be prepared! "

If you've never replaced a crank and bearings and you haven't already assembled the tools to do so then I would suggest replacing the seals and saving the crank and bearings for a later date. From there, swap in the reeds and new carb. Jet the carb for the stock engine and your exhaust. Once you've done that and it's running well, install the DR kit and re-jet the carb for that. I've seen too many people buy everything at once, install it all, and then be at a loss as to what went wrong.

I reread your post and you didn't get a bigger carb but a bigger carb jet. I'd go with a bigger than stock carb with that kit given it's propensity to generate lots of heat.(edited)

William Johnson /

without higher stall clutch springs and variator you won't get the performance you should.

eh, just notch that fucker and rip cheap

TJT vario is on the list but wanna get started with what I have accumulated so far, what springs do you recommend?

Notch and only notch? What will I do with all these parts?? haha

Terbo Speghetti /