Sachs G3 1979 Speed increase help

Hey, I'm new to mopeds and was wondering how I could increase the top speed of my moped without upgrading the engine or changing the exhaust. I get about 30mph

with pretty slow acceleration. Any ideas

Re: Sachs G3 1979 Speed increase help

ᴛᴇʀʀʏ ᴅᴇᴀɴ /

without changing the pipe or upgrading the engine? lose some weight

First you need to kind out what engine you have.505a/c or d.

Sachs are great stock bikes but pretty much the worst for tuning. You can't just throw a 70cc kit on it like a Puch...well you can, but your clutch will go kablooie.

Hopefully you have a 505d. Those can be made to hit 40 relatively easily with an expansion chamber and carb work.

If not your kinda stuck with what you have without alot of expensive parts and modding. (edited)

Look on the right side of the cylinder, the top horizontal cooling fin, a lot of the 505s have the speed rating of the cylinder cast in that fin unless it is a D. The engine ID on the right side of the engine casing will tell you if it s a A C or D. D the fins are square and the A C are tapered toward the front of the engine.

All Sachs engines can be mildly ported and take a better carb & intake with a derestrited exhause or aftermarket pipe to give you more than 30mph. Also a goodly tune up of the engine and the entire bike will improve performance and reliability.

If you need anything more than a bit of improvement and you will be spending a few $$$ or more.

Just get the 3 speed hand shift 505/3bx and some odds and ends off treats, those Sachs rip. I built this 9 years ago. Man time flies?

FB_IMG_1572664228560.jpg

Whoa Nick back in the game?!

are there any mammoths left?

^That is almost unquestionably the fastest sachs.

Anyway, there's a writeup on almost everything you need to know and i think it's up to date... The Airsal 70cc kit is only 5 or so years on the market and not bad for keeping clutches intact.

https://www.mopedarmy.com/wiki/Sachs_505/1a_performance