Best Motobecane AV7 Money Spent?

ALEX PHILLIPS /

I've got $200 to put into mopeds and a 50v AV7 with stock everything except cdi and 15.15 SHA.

Should I slap a 74cc Airsal on it, and run it with stock exhaust and stock head? I'd do the variator 2 ball modification as well.

Or should I spend my money on an er3 w/clutch function and port the cylinder per the wiki? I have no experience with porting.

My goal is 45 mph with torque. I will put more into the bike in the future, but this is the extent of my fun right now. A part of me wants to save and build up an AV10, another part of me wants to go fast now.

Re: Best Motobecane AV7 Money Spent?

you got the cashew exhaust?

Either way, i like porting and moby was the first cylinder i ever ported, pretty straightforward, very satisfying.

av10 isnt that expensive. you can get the cases with a SHA intake and some reeds for under 100, I got a cylinder, mild 70cc, I'd send ya for 30 bucks shipped. rebuild it ($30 for bearings and seals, cut yer own gaskets, reuse your other av7 shit. you're in budget and rolling on av10

i've built the 'slap on an airsal' moby build a couple times for customers, its a really quick and easy way to get a moby going 45 with good torque and accel and pretty reliable.

if you just take the plate out of the exhaust its not much louder and runs really good. easy to tune with the SHA.

the 2 ball mod is nice but when you have the torque of the kit you end up not really needing it. you can shim up your engine spring with washers for a little boost and fine tune it.

ALEX PHILLIPS /

willd -- ill take you up on that. Let me know if you see a cheapo av10 with sha intake and reeds. the cases im finding are more expensive.

graham -- yeah the slap on approach seems so easy and totally good enough. But Im thinking ill make my life impossible and build an av10.

> ALEX PHILLIPS Wrote:

> -------------------------------------------------------