Honda Hobbit 70cc kit

Dayton Bourassa /

http://www.treatland.tv/hobbit-malossi-cast-iron-70cc-kit-p/honda-malossi-45.5mm-313642.htm

Above is the kit I am about to pull the trigger on, reviews are good and it comes with the jet and drill tool which I think is very handy. I do have some questions that might be able to be answered as I am new to the moped world. I have read some stuff on the 70cc kits that my stock head from the Hobbit will work just fine, but I will have to buy a spacer for the kit to make sure the piston clears the scavanging ports. Any information and tips you have on these 70 kits coming from a 50, by all means I am all ears. Thank you in advance!

Re: Honda Hobbit 70cc kit

I'm a DR guy.

They are awesome if you can keep em cool.

And if you melt a piston, just sand and get a new piston.

They're so hard, like I am right now

Clearing the port is not your concern. Your only requirement will be clearing the head with the piston dome. If it does that, don't go any further to try and space the cylinder losing compression and bumping the port timing. Dry fit the cylinder kit without the rings on the piston first and check for clearance.

Also, I am a DR guy too. Scored them, busted them, BENT A SKIRT.. fixed it up and kept on rolling. They are hard, good word for it. Also, they for certain require no spacing.(edited)

Aaron Bowen /

Listen to JBOT DR!!!!!

I just rode my very ported DR.

Fucking love it.

Was good stock, so much better ported wide above the semibridge.

I think I got my exhsust abound 22.5mm from the top.

Still jumps onto the pipe even with race gears really quickly.

Used it on pinball, well it melted the piston on the 5th day,

But just sanded the other day and got a new piston and it's even faster than it was before.

Benjamin LaPlante /

DR is the best

Why do you say the DR is the best? Even better than something like the Athena or the Metra Kit? I've always heard those give the most power.