Learn 2 tune Hobbit

Julie the Wizard /

Hey, that's me! I'm a noob! Fuck.

So I've gone over Crazy Wayne's info, and messed with my timing a bit before I upjetted to try and get it more lean. Prior to upjetting, I feel like I could handle hills pretty well, no significant issue. top end was good, I could hit 35 pretty easily, sometimes 37 or 40 on a long enough stretch.

My setup is a a dual stage reed set (for stockers), notched vario, proma circuit, stock 49cc, points.

Stalled out while going uphill and thought it was overheat, but it was actually probably just gunk in my carb, because when I finally drilled out the screws and cleaned the carb, it was full of black gunk left over from the 30yr old gas that was in it.

Which would explain why I stalled a couple times. Oops. Well, the carb's off, I thought I'd bump up anyways.

So I took out the 78 and put in an 80. I -feel- like there's a difference, now. Loss of power, I think it's still timing. I did a plug chop on an older plug after going up a mountain for about half a mile at WoT and couldn't read it with my flashlight, so I swapped plugs and went home.

Reading the plug now, it looks pretty okay, it's had too much use to read that well. The neck inside of the threading is all smokeringed up beyond what I can read, but the top of the threading was a brownish-white that still looked a little lean.

There's no point to really posting pictures of it because it wasn't really a done-proper plug chop, so I'm going to head to auto parts soon to buy like 10 spark plugs and more carb cleaner. I'm also going to advance the timing like another mm to see if that makes any difference.

I'm aware I'm tuning this stupidly, and don't need to know that I am tuning it stupidly. I know. I'd like to know if anyone has any tips? I know about swapping the plug right before going WoT for a while to get a good reading and to hit the power switch /before/ going to idle to not tamper with the result.