1986 Suzuki fa50 top speed issues

So I have a 1986 Suzuki fa50 thats pretty much stock and mint. The only thing not stock is the air intake filter cover, which broke off on my first ride and I replaced with a slightly deeper tupperware container for now, which actually gave me a little more speed. Right no it tops off at about 27mph. The stock speed is supposed to be around 30-35mph. Ive run some carb treatment through a few tanks of gas but havent gotten much progress. Any ideas? Im new to the world of moped tuning and mods

Re: 1986 Suzuki fa50 top speed issues

Every fa50 in the world goes 27mph. Seriously.

simon thokaar /

Brandon Johnson Wrote:

-------------------------------------------------------

> Every fa50 in the world goes 27mph. Seriously.

and thats only if the reeds are still good. Buddy of mine had one going 40ish with an MLM sidebleed and some cylinder work.. it lasted bout a week before seizing..

It's true. The only way to gain ground speed is to increase engine speed, and that causes the appliance like qualities of the fa50 to drain away...

I don't know what alternate universe you pulled the idea of 30-35 from but 28 is pretty much it unless you intend to drop a ton of money and time on the bike. It's not worth it and the bike was never intended for such.

Ditch the tupperware and get the original aircover lid. It'll cost you less than $20 from bikebandit.

Also, that "carb treatment" won't do shit. Magic doesn't exist.

Enjoy what you have. The FA is a dependable, low speed vehicle with insanely great gas mileage. If you treat it right it'll carry you many miles for years to come.

the carb treatment was to clean the carb without disassembling it, and it worked so idk what your talking about, the tupperwear made it hit 28 where as before it barely hit 25 on flat ground. Ive also seen a stock fa50 do 35 so im not pulling that out of anywhere

You're wrong about literally everything and your FA50 will always be slow.