General Top Tank Kit

Zachary Price Carpman /

Hi guys well I just picked up a general top tank that runs awesome stock, except for one thing, it has very little compression left after 7000 miles. It has a motori minarelli engine on it that I know have a bunch of kits available to improve performance and would get my compression back but I am a novice to kit installs. I guess my question would be which Kit should I buy as a novice and what carb would I match it up with, and what kind of tips and suggestions would you give to a first timer like me?

Re: General Top Tank Kit

80cc polini

^ the polini kits are the best for them. They are cast iron and can take a beating. I run a 21mm Dell carb on mine currently and a Motion Left pipe.

polini is best for noobs i say its forgivein

Zachary Price Carpman /

So if i buy the 80cc polini kit and the 21mm dellorto carb is it pretty much plug and play from there?

you might have to run windows update

its a great kit for everyone. Cast Iron is the way to go always.

That is just my set up, you dont have to go with a 21mm, you can use a 19mm as well, Mikuni flatsides are a good choice too. Once your carb is tuned real good you'll ride really smooth.

will the stock clutch hold up ok with the polini 80cc ?

make sure you port match the intake and exhaust, they are both terribly small out of the box.

Zachary Price Carpman /

Anyone have a link to which carb/intake will work for the 80cc polini kit?

My favorite combo is the Weak-ends V1 intake paired with the Mikuni vm20 .

On my General I am running that set-up with a modified Puch treats pipe . . . ported and case matched top speed GPS 56.6mph at 12/40 gears right now and plennnnty of power getting there.