hobbit bogging out and dying

ok guys, one more problem i seem to be experiencing on my pa50. I installed a proma pipe yesterday, and it run fairly good, gained about 4mph, but it gets me those 4mph much faster than before which is perfect for around town... obviously i'd like the other 4 that they claim I can get but i'll settle for now unless you guys have tips for tuning. anyways, my problem is that when i'm on regular fuel intake, it dies after a quarter mile, but then i switch it to reserve, and start it back up, it runs great, borderline better than it does before. problem obviously is that I would eventually run out of gas. did i do something wrong when installing the pipe? any help in the right direction would be great, as i've said in other posts, i'm very new to mopeds and just learning a lot already. thanks!

Re: hobbit bogging out and dying

go with that 80-81 jet instead of the 78 for a lil more umph with that pipe....also it sounds like you are using all the fuel in the carb faster than it can refill is my guess....when you sit a minute it refills slowly.... have you pulled the petcock off and cleaned the petcock and filter screen etc and checked for good flow?

Adam Lohner Wrote:

-------------------------------------------------------

> obviously i'd like the other 4 that they claim

Your results may vary - Nobody claims 8mph. Especially the company, so don't blame the pipe.

On your hobbit - the petcock pickup is dirty, Or your carburetor float level is set too low. Thats good because they are both easy fixes, readily available, and very affordable.

New petcock $10-15 or clean your existing. ~10-15min to unbolt, drain and shake out the tank with some gas to make sure its clean, and replace the tank.