another "first kit" thread: 50cc k-star?

I have been reading the forums and wiki doing e50 kit research for a couple of hours (oops...) and the 70cc k-star seems real popular around here, but there's relatively little info about its little brother the 50cc. The general consensus seems to be that for a 70cc a better crank isn't optional, but still being a relative moped rookie I'm hesitant to mess with the bottom end. Can I slap on the 50cc Kstar with the hi comp head (and bigger carb + pipe) without having to change anything besides jetting? Will stock timing be OK, or will I need to retard it? Putting bigger carbs and exhausts on stock cylinders is pretty much the extent of my tuning experience, so go easy on me...

Re: another "first kit" thread: 50cc k-star?

***VANILLA BLUNDER*** /

you wont get much out of a 50 kit without a case match and all that., even then new crank or at least new bearings are a good idea. jump in headfirst and tear up your bottom end and get a 70 kit, you wont regret it.

Thanks for the input. I figured I'd have to bite the bullet if I wanted real performance. But even if I could get the bike to do mid-high 30s I'd be happy. Not looking for a real ripper, just something that can keep up with city traffic. Would the treats/kstar kit at least give me that? The other thing is that I only have very basic tools and don't really want to invest in the tools needed to do a bottom end rebuild properly according to the wiki, while it seems like the top end rebuild is possible just using stuff I already have.

Overpriced Parts /

Stock timing will blow most kits

Time to 16-17 degrees/mm on the flywheel

Full retard may not be enough without dremeling slots.

See my post on Lukus McWhorters post dear mother of god ..

Bla bla whatever he said

Michael Dreamboat /

Ken, is there anything online for instructions on how to do this timing? I only saw a vague description in the wiki.