Peugeot TSM, which variator should I get

I am setting up my tsm with a malossi case, malossi 70cc top end, hi comp head and phbg 21. That Much I know.

I am trying to sort out which variator set up to run on this. I am considering the doppler er3 or the Malossi Vario Top.

I have questions about the advantage or disadvantage of running a variator that is clutched vs running a non clutch vario with a clutched pulley. If you are running either setup can you please give me and idea of what the advantage is over the other. Also I am familiar with tuning the TJT variators, what is the process for tuning these ones.

thanks, I will put up pictures as I get into it.

Re: Peugeot TSM, which variator should I get

variotop seems the most popular as im told it has the biggest range. but im new to vario bikes I have a tsm also and the thing needs modded

Well let's figure this shit out! If you find any good info or links pass it on to me. Are you running all stock right now?

running would be a stretch but yes the bike is stock.

https://www.treatland.tv/SearchResults.asp?Search=variotop+peugeot

If you want to get radical, which it sounds like you do, go er3 and clutch pulley

any of the doppler variators "with clutch function" need jacking around with a hunk of cardboard to get started unless you have a kickstarter. not sure how complicated the starting procedure gets with a variotop.

basically, if you are ready to go big, if you are ready to pony up the cash for the full doppler monty, nothing compares to it, nothing compares to you--with it.

what anout the rgd?

@Noel, you're thinking the Motobecane versions. The Peugeot ER3 variators with clutch function can be started and idle just fine with stock pulley and pedals or whatever.

haha wrong post, er3 ftw though.

All right starting to get some feed back here. I was wondering what that cardboard trick was all about. Anybody running the er3 with clutch pulley could chime in on this would be awesome.

Tyler Brekke Wrote: