Is my V1 Polini ok? see pic

Steve Aldermann /

First off this is my first kit and I am relatively new to mopeds (I've had my motron medalist for about a year). I decided to try a kit and went with the polini since all the threads I read said it was relatively forgiving/simple for new guys.

I'm using it with a puch treats pipe and a 19 mm phbg and stock head. Currently I'm at a 88 main jet (just barely fourstroking), 40 idle, W7 needle 2nd leanest. Timing is at 20 degrees btdc, and 10X40 gearing.

I haven't been able to run it much (5-10 miles total), because it gets hot fast and I'm trying my best to make sure it doesn't seize. It's gotten up to 380 degrees twice. I've checked for air leaks, can't seem to find any.

I decided to take the top end back off to inspect things and I noticed that the crosshatching is gone already where ever the rings ride and that both the cylinder and piston have light lines in them that if you can just barely feel in you really dig you nail in as you go across them. A photo is attached (sorry not good with cameras tho). Still, you can see where the cross hatching remains at the top edge of the cylinder where the rings don't reach.

Main thing I want to know is if the cylinder is fine or if that is normal during break in and what may have caused it if not, so I can avoid it in the future. Any other advice is appreciated.

! http://s1069.photobucket.com/albums/u469/aldermannn/?action=view&current=cylinder1.jpg !

cylinder2.jpg

Re: Is my V1 Polini ok? see pic

Steve Aldermann /

HA, have to laugh at myself too. Even after reading the post on how to imbed pictures I still failed. Sorry guys

380deg isnt too bad... a little hot ... but if you keep riding will your temperatures soar? Look into a mopedfactory head... and a cdi with a curve (pietcard).

Steve Aldermann /

I don't think it would get much hotter, but I'm still in the break-in period so I'm trying to take it easy on it, but its hard to resist the temptation.