hobbit pa50 only getting 13 mph

im new to this moped and know that 20mph is the top for this model, but i am only getting 13. seems like i might have the wrong drive belt because i feel it slipping when im near the topend. anything else i should check as a preliminary measure before i start taking things apart? thank you.

Re: hobbit pa50 only getting 13 mph

Adjust drive belt tension. Rear pulley should have the belt riding inside it 2mm. If you put it on the centerstand and spin the wheel by hand a few times then check how far it is inside. If its an old hobbit my old belt started to stretch pretty quick. ~200mi and it was useless.

I would also guess plugged exhaust possibly. Remove, unbolt the service plug in the side of it to get the gunk out, burn it in a fire, whack it with a 2x4 or something, replace with a new copper gasket. Also when you have the pipe out check how caked up the exhaust port is.

Maybe try removing your air filter and see if that gains you speed. it might be over oiled. Flip the choke on while your riding and see if you gain speed, carburetor might be running a little lean?

Oah yeah, then there is the whole variator. I would recommend a strap wrench to hold the front variator. Then use some adjustable pliers or the tool that comes in the 'secret compartment' under the rack on the rear in the frame. to unscrew the huge nut. Got to unstake it first also. The weights might have flat spots so they dont allow the engine rpm to gradually pick up speed, rather they fling out and choke the engine -sort-of- by bogging it.

Thats all really easy stuff to check but if its your first time its a learning experience.

there is a belt adjustment on the rear wheel you can try tightening it. Also, your exhaust might be clogged.

that sucks. that's slow as fuck. thirteen? have you GPS'd it?