New School M101

I seen a few of us are building some m101 engines up.

Most of the convo that was going on MA about these was in 2010, things seemed to have really died down since then. Hopefully we can touch base here and figure out some stuff.

I'm a total noob when it come to the Morini.

Kits: It seems that most are going with the 60cc kits that require no boring of the cases or added material. But when I look at the ports of some of these kits I cant bring myself to buy them. Why have a case inducted engine and not utilize the top transfer or even a boost port?

As far as the kits easily available this seems to be the best:

brn 43.5mm 60cc

Any thoughts aside from it being a pain to set up?

Maybe we can get some cases together to get machined and welded up?

What are you guys doing for ignition? I see the ducati one available on treats, but i hate switching from points unless its going to weigh less and give me a curve...

Variators? Iv never played with one, looks like you can use vespa parts for the rear, an there's a polini performance for the front?

Sorry if these questions are lame, i know Ed can chime in and slap me with morini dick of knowledge, but I'am hoping the few of us can get together and get some fast bikes.

Re: New School M101

A friend of mine just got a bunch of stuff for his Cosmo. He got the Polini kit and while it looks pretty nice (I.e. piston, casting) the ports are SO small. The exhaust port is so rinky dink...like 18mm at the flange haha. I just don't get it being a dual variated/alum cyl/crank inducted reedvalve engine! So much potential...

Regardless that said kit on a stock carb, circuit pipe, and Polini racing variator (it's a scooter one) will go nearly 55mph!

well for one if your talking about the m101 your looking at the wrong kits, the m1is case inducted reed block and the kit you linked too will work ONLY for those engines