MO1 no torque

Alex Steffenson /

Hey guys, my morini starts and idles good but it has no low end power. With me sitting on it it can get going. It will rev up but not move. I'm not really sure what else to look at :(

Re: MO1 no torque

If you have no power under load then you likely have an air leak. My Sebring did the same thing a couple weeks ago. I had a big air leak behind the stator. Fixed it and it's doing wheelies again!

Alex Steffenson /

Hmm okay. I'm a bit new to these so where should I be looking for leaks at?

wherever two things come together.

Carb to intake, intake to cylinder, head to cylinder, exhaust to cylinder, cylinder to case.

Shoot some carb cleaner at any seal, basket, or mating surface, if the motor bogs out, or dies, you found your leak.

Alex Steffenson /

Yeah good suggestions guys. Ill give that a shot and see how it goes. Thanks again!

if it will start take a can of starting fluid or carb cleaner (my choice) and with the bike running, spray down all the areas that might have a leak.

When you hear the RPMS drop and the bike begin to die a little, theres your leak.

Alex Steffenson /

Brilliance.

Alex Steffenson /

Well, you guys were right. Its sucking air in where the carb is clamped onto the intake. I verified it with carb spray and it would die. I tightebed the clamp screw more and more but still it didn't seal. I made sure my surfaces were nice and clean and still couldn't make it seal. It has a dellorto 14.12 on it and stock intake. Any ideas on why no matter how much I tighten it down it still wouldn't seal up?

You probably need a new plastic shim. It goes inside the carb clamp area, and onto the intake. They crack real easy over time, and overtightening. Make sure the new one seats all the way into the carb, and the carb goes as far onto the intake as possible. I found out the hard way on my Vespa.

Alex Steffenson /

Hmm ok cool ill give that a try. Does treats offer the shims?

Alex Steffenson /