Stumped. Help me solve this issue if you can...

Chris Bettini /

I have a 1978 2HP PUCH Maxi. It has been upgraded with a K-Star 70, kept the original 14mm Bing carb. Super Stuffy crank. Techno Boss pipe. And it's running great... until a few days ago. While rollin' at WOT it would start to choke and hesitate. So today I down jetted from a 74 to a 72. Tried B6HS and B7HS plugs. STILL getting the hesitation, and if I try to WOT through the hesitation it dies. Any ideas? I am in Omaha, NE and it's SUPER humid and muggy. Could it be the air? Should I try down jetting yet again to maybe a 68? Any suggestions would be most awesome! I'm new to peds since only January. Omaha's Kit Kats have been most helpful, but this has me stumped! (edited)

Re: Stumped. Help me solve this issue if you can...

Downhill Harvey (OFMC) /

Upjet dummy.

Chris Bettini /

@ajwasp - I down jetted because my plug was black and oily, do you still think I need to upjet?

Chris Bettini /

I also took the air filter off to see if that would help. It didn't.

Downhill Harvey (OFMC) /

I run a 70 on a stock cylinder.

Maybe you've got a clog in your fuel lines or a bubble or something. That happens to me sometimes if a piece of gunk gets caught in the fuel filter.

Chris Bettini /

I'll check the fuel filter! Thanks!

yes keep down jetting... say....68

Chris Bettini /

I down jetted to a 68... and have tried NGK B6HS, B7HS and b*hs plugs - STILL having problems. I have been told from a local moped rider, "hesitation" is the wrong term... I'm "bogging down" I have removed the air filter, and drained all the fuel tonight (in case I got some bad gas, or some asshole put something in my tank) and will refill tomorrow. I will probably get a new fuel filter as well. I was running perfect for weeks... now I can't go a few blocks with out problems! This is a completely rebuilt E50 - new bearings and seals, new crank - everything! I hope some of you Old Skool cats can help me trouble shoot this!!