motobecane 51V upgrades

hi all, got some motobecane newbie questions...

i looked a bit in the wiki and did some searches, but was looking for the latest answers and such...

so i've got a reed valve av10 on a 51V from france (see buy/sell for my recent acquisition).

it's all stock and runs well this way, but i was wondering what simple upgrades are possible with this setup. i'm looking mostly for dellorto carb upgrades, reed cages, variators, pipes that allow me to keep stand/pedals.

i've got some experience with vespa engine rebuilds, kitting of puch/vespa, variator stuff but never with a motobecane.

any tips/advice on this is definitely appreciated.

Re: motobecane 51V upgrades

If you are talking about the blue 51v you just bought on the forum then don't upgrade it. Buy another motobecane and upgrade that to an av10. The stock setup and story that go with it are too much to ruin.

Yea right!

It came over from france with a motobecane honcho so he could ride it around America only to end up with someone who wont be satisfied with it the way it is.

Sad Sad times.

Makes me want to cry a little.

yes, it is beautiful and has a touching story to it, but i have never been against simple non-invasive changes. like maybe a dellorto carb with matching intake which i have a lot of happy experiences with. but i would certainly not get any large pipe that would require loss of pedals or center stand. i'm against any cutting, grinding, or hacking of any kind to this bike.

if i were to do anything (which i'm not sure i will) i would make any change reversible to original.

anyway, you bring up an interesting philosophical point. i got this moped primarily not because it was a collectors item, but because i know it is a solid moped with the best of features. but i am respectful of this (and all) mopeds so i never repaint, and avoid permanent irreversible changes. if you think this is overly sad, tell me why, maybe i'll understand better.