Piaggio zip (05)

Right,

well i have recently bought a piaggio zip (05 plate) it has done about 13,000km, about 8,000 miles......... this is besides the point

i have had a few problems with it, fuses blowing being the main, with the odd trouble to start her up in the cold.

now i want to make her faster, but im a total novice to bikes and i would like to learn. i would like to know a few bits i could buy and fit to make her faster

i get around 30-35mph from it (occasionally hitting 40) but when it comes to searching for new bits i seriously don't know....

what can i buy to enhance the speed of my bike? the bits and names would be great!

all help greatly appreicated

james

Re: Piaggio zip (05)

Bits! Fantastic! Hi other side!

James, this is the page I found on the Zip. According to this page, it's got Piaggio's 50cc four-stroke engine.

Also, the page linked above makes special mention of the fact that the 2008 model _does not_ have a digital clock. How much extra does that option cost, do you think?

Does it come with a sundial instead? A self-winding clock run off the speedometer drive? No clock at all? Who knows!

Anyway, I don't think that anyone here is going to be particularly helpful in the pursuit of performance gains on a 50cc automatic transmission four-stroke. You can't increase the displacement or compression with a kit, you can't change the fuel/air/exhaust flow with a hand file, and the transmission looks like it's sealed. I can't even tell - is yours chain- or belt-driven?

Perhaps someone can recommend a good scooter performance site? I know only of "battlescooter.net" (for the Honda Ruckus, specifically), and the people there spend a lot of time complaining about how slow they are (and, justifiably, talking about how much like a Jeep their scooters look).