4 stroking on take off WTF?

no matter what jet I have in it seems to 4 stroke on the take off.

Here is my setup.

za50 magnum

70cc k-star

15:15 sha

78 jet

tecno bullet exhaust

hi comp 50cc head

could this be some kind of airleak?

Re: 4 stroking on take off WTF?

How could an airleak cause 4 stroking?? I'm no puch expert but to me a 15.15 is pretty small for 70cc, and a 78 jet is pretty big for a 15mm carb.

I know other people are running this setup.

15 is fine with a 70cc. Lots of people are running 15's on 70cc's. I would say you might need to advance your timing... That's my first guess as long as it's all good. How does the mid range and top work out with this main jet?

down jet or lean out your idle mixture or you have more air at take off but still plenty of gas at WOT

4 stroking on take off WTF?

I 'll argue that comment about the 78 being too small. Not too familiar with the kstar's or sha's, but temporarily ran an 84 on a 14mm bing with stock airbox on a 64cc polini. Maybe reedvalve engines need more gas?

Does the carb have a neddle with different settings? Lower it if possible. However, a 19mm carb would work much better with that set-up.

timing is advanced all of the way. Plug chop shows I am running rich. I went to a smaller jet and it still four strokes at take off. but the midrange and topend are fine. Also I am at sea level.

🇮🇹💦 Of the Loin /

ok, go to a smaller jet then.

leaky carb? fuel leak that is...if fuel is getting past the jet at partial throttle it would four stroke, and not be so noticeable at full throttle. just a shot in the dark.

my old bing I could adjust the needle. but this carb I can't

Sounds like you are too rich. If you are rich at take off (i.e. low RPMs) then you are probably rich at the top also. Generally it is easier to feel the bike being rich at lower RPMs. Since you plug chop told you are rich, then you are rich and need to down jet.

) Cupermcnewbster ( /