popping my kit cherry

Sullivan & Sullivan,llp /

So I'm getting ready to put a kit on my 1983 puch cobra. this is a first time build for me, but i work in a garage and have access to anything i might need, as well as the knowledge of more experienced mechanics should i get stuck on something.

my questions are:

1> should i get the puch 80cc kit from treats hq? if i do that i'm gonna spend the extra fifty and get the head too cuz it says it doesn't come with one.

2> how much hacking and rewelding am i really gonna have to do?

3> what size/brand carb should I get?

4> is it worth port matching?

5> should i spend the extra money and get a racing sprocket/chain?

6> how fast is the bike going to go?

thanks.

Corey

Re: popping my kit cherry

Corey the Metra 80 comes with a head dude.

You must be looking at the parma by accident.

If you do get the metra 80, you need to weld around the cases with alum and then machine it ( or dremel it really frigging well ) so that it will accomidate that cylinder barrell and the huge transfer ports.

It is not beyond doing if you have alum welding skills and a welder, but its kinda hard id say.

You HAVE to port match it, it cannot be done any other way. The transfers are HUGE

with the big metra there is no fuckin around with carbs, you need a 21mm delorto or a mikuni flatside or something huge and you need to make an intake.

Then you need to make an exhaust, cuase the metra is a flat port. Or you can buy a 200 pipe for it.

Not that all this isnt worth it, im sure it will go like stink..

But you might wanna try a less huge route - a athena reed, a polini reed, or a metra 65 ( which when done right with the 19.5 carb and exhaust can scream too )

Lot o work and money those 80cc metra's

Something to think about!

i'll end up doing the exhaust too, but that's down the road as the bike gets near completion.