Motobecane gears

Where to get different gears for Mobys. I have a stock 50v (soon to have 15.15 delorto carb) and want to get a little more top end out of it. I figure this would be the cheapest way to get a few more mph out of her. This bike is my girls and I want her to be able to cruise with my kitted bike.

Steve

Re: Motobecane gears

the only gear in a moby is in the speedometer

sorry, sprockets!

Thanks, I looked on handybikes but got sick of looking after page ten on the motobecane parts list. I'm not that good at the internets.

You don't want to gear out a variated bike. It doesn't work like you expect.

we put a 44 tooth motobecane sprocket on a varriated bike that had like a 55 or something huge.. it goes 35-40 now..

and still takes off faster then my kitted e50

Tim Sandberg /

I've been thinking about regearing the rear moby sprocket too! I have a pulley coming in the mail that comes with an 11 tooth sprocket.. and I'm THIS close to ordering a 44 tooth rear sprocket from handybikes. My bike runs very solid as it is, I think it could definitely stand to have a higher gearing and get a bit more top end and make that variator think about it for a second before it kicks in.. if you get what I mean by that. As it is it variates hella quick.. meaning it could use a bit more resistance, eh? Thoughts? Hopefully I get a response before my moped-parts-ordering spasm takes control.

Your kitted E-50 needs work then.

Motobecane's with the 30mph cylinder will go 35-40 with the stock 54 tooth sprocket. Most bikes i've seen that have dropped their rear sprocket have terrible low end until they hit about 25mph, or start going downhill.

Tim, your variator opens based on engine speed, not "resistance." raising your gearing will just give you less rpms and less power to work with at any given speed, unless you re-weight your variator.

Tim Sandberg /