puch porting question

This is my first time posting to mopedarmy, so here it goes. My only bike has a 1 hp cylinder on an e50 engine. I have an extra cylinder so I figured I would give porting a shot. I've been reading on puchforum.net quite a lot and I've seen a port map of a 50cc airsal cylinder. The mopedwiki said that it is best to model a ported cylinder after a fast cylinder so I'm giving it a go.

So far, I've ported most of my cylinder after the airsal fast 50cc kit.

The intake is 10mm by 10 mm and I want it to be 10mm by 27mm, but the stock intake is 5mm higher than my soon to be ported intake. My question is, will it ruin my cylinder to make the intake as large as the airsal and move the enlarge the port to be 15mm by 27mm? Will it mess up the ideal port time area?

My piston is cut to 49mm which is the same as the airsal, so will that make the timing ok?

The picture shows the airsal port map with my intake in place over the airsal intake.

Airsal port map from puchforum.net

Will it work? If I ruin the cylinder, I have another, but I hate to mess up if I can help it.

Thanks,

AdamZ

Re: puch porting question

Yea! First try pic worked!

Bump please? Somebody has to know.

First, let me say I know very little about 2-stroke engines.

Second, I was hoping someone would replay because I am interested in a similar modification.

Finally, I will give my opinions based on what I have come to understand so far...

The location and size of the ports are in effect the "camshaft" of the engine. Reworking the intake port as you propose is like installing a cam with more lift and opening the intake valve earlier TDC and closing it later after TDC. If you put a degree wheel on the flywheel you could actually measure timings. Perhaps overlap as well.