I’m incompetent

So my 12 year old just got this bike for just putting around the neighborhood two days ago. Today he’d been riding it around and then couldn’t start it. I found that the spark plug had gotten loose, tightened it, and it started and ran again. I’m using 40:1 fresh, from Home Depot. Well, the bike is “hot rodded” whatever that means and it doesn’t idle, you have to give it a little gas all the time. I started to adjust the idle (I think it’s the screw closest to the inside on the top of the carb but I’m not sure.) now the bike won’t start. We accidentally let the bike sit an hour without turning the fuel off and it leaked out from the carb on to the floor of the garage. Now we keep on trying to start it and it won’t start and then fuel keep leaking out of the carb. I’m a super novice and can’t find much of any pics or videos concerning a 1997 Sprint A35 on the internet. Help. Anything……..it’s also hard because I don’t know the words that mean the things………

I do have the A35 manual but that’s basically worthless.

09EF972F-2760-4DC5-A457-A22983A56EC8.jpeg
D23B21A1-725E-48CF-92C7-DD12B9CDE8A5.jpeg
CB6A396B-7B9C-449F-9BC6-E50C4F0878FD.jpeg

Re: I’m incompetent

Posting a few more pics

F8127D14-6E26-45EF-B527-A087D4E548B7.jpeg
31EE77EE-BA03-415E-B61E-75646FCB366A.jpeg

your carburetor is leaking creating a super rich condition that is making the bike impossible to start, as well as leaving a puddle of gasoline on the floor.

buy a new Dellorto brand SHA carburetor and enjoy. do not buy a knockoff.

your bike will and son will thank you.

Here is the method that I employ to clear a flooded engine.

1. Ignition off

2. Fuel tap off

3. If possible, drain the carb float bowl

4. Remove the spark plug

5. Twist the throttle all the way open and keep it open

6. Kick the kickstarter 20 to 30 times to pump the excess fuel out of the crankcase and into the muffler

7. Make sure the spark plug is clean and dry and reinstall it