1978 Garelli

I have a 1978 Garelli that I just replaced rubber clutch on. It starts up fine and rear wheel spins normally while bike is on kickstand. As soon as I take off kick stand and give full throttle the bike engines just revs up and does not accelerate/ move unless I’m going down hill of driveway. Does anyone know what can be the cause of this? I also have 400 ml of 30weightND lubrication oil inside. Thanks

Re: 1978 Garelli

Certainly sounds like the clutch is not engaging. I'm no garelli expert, but the manuals may help: https://drive.google.com/drive/u/0/folders/1znPdXCXDGjQ9rRxyAk7CayYSaOss8Gzm

todd amundson /

400 Cc’s is 400 ml but I believe you’re overfilled. Take out 70ML and see what happens

Will do. Thanks for responses

Make sure the main gear is tight.

Is main gear the one in back of clutch?

F7912ED3-7B5A-4AC8-89B8-76379205F01A.jpeg

> Dave Jenkins wrote:

> -------------------------------------------------------

> Is main gear the one in back of clutch?

Yes. Should be a 17mm socket if I remember correctly.

I don't understand why you put a new rubber in. The old one wasn't bad.

Have the cases of the engine ever been split before?

The old one was swoll due to putting wrong oil in. Before I put in new rubber the bike would die when rear brake was engaged. Now with new rubber the bike doesn’t die with brake engaged but it will not accelerate. Could it be the small bushes need to be replaced also? Could they have swelled and are creating new issue?

> Dave Jenkins wrote:

> The old one was swoll due to putting wrong oil in. Before I put in new

> rubber the bike would die when rear brake was engaged. Now with new

> rubber the bike doesn’t die with brake engaged but it will not

> accelerate. Could it be the small bushes need to be replaced also? Could

> they have swelled and are creating new issue?