clutch lever arm/spring

hey guys I just got my first moped (78 Puch Maxi project) and on my first day working on it I already screwed something up. I have lots of experience working on cars but not on mopeds. I removed the clutch lever arm to remove some gunk and learned it was a bad idea because the spring came untensioned and the arm won't go back on right. I did some searches afterwards and saw how removing the arm is a bad idea... fortunately i have the clutch cover that comes off but i'm not really sure what to do after I take it off to get the spring/arm back in the correct position. thanks for any assist.

IMG_4755.jpg

Re: clutch lever arm/spring

Unscrew the four screws holding the cover on, you don't have to remove them all the way. All your trans fluid will dump out. Put the arm on like parallel with the edge of the case if that makes sense. Then push the arm forward until you get it to be on the inside of the case. Tighten the cover back down. Put the cable back on. Adjust cable until clutch grabs right. If it doesn't engage, repeat but put the arm on pointing farther away from the motor.

thanks Nick. i'm not clear what loosening the cover is doing? is it helping tension the spring?

Loosening the cover allows you to rotate the clutch shaft without the cam on the bottom engaging the starter plate. So you can get the arm back on in the correct position.

Try it, look down in there. Play with it some. It’s one of those things that makes sense when you do it but hard to see a picture with words.

Tweaker trash /

Yea that’s not good! You should of made a line with sharpie