Turning my crank for flywheel placement

I read the wiki on it. I used the compound and ground down for two rounds... do I need more? Is this far enough. It's my first time, be gentle.

And thanks.

1590108326091487183383456549357.jpg

Re: Turning my crank for flywheel placement

Nothing.... noone? I want sure if I could go too far really so I'll just do another go at it just to make sure. I want this to be the last time I set the flywheel position for the timing.

Thanks all!

Am I understanding you correctly ?

You only turned the flywheel twice on the crank ? Two times around the crank ?

From all the crank lappings I've seen , that's not near enough .

It doesn't look like the flywheel and crank are making full taper contact .(edited)

ASAP! Did two rounds of the lapping. Each round consisted of 12 full turns each direction for a total of 48 turns between the two rounds.

But yes I noticed the same but since it is my first time doing it I wanted to get some other opinions from folks more familiar. I will do a couple more rounds and see if I can get the surfaces to look like they are mating better.

Is there a better trick to this? Right now I am using a piston stop to hold my piston and turning the flywheel while pushing in and holding as much pressure against everything while I do the turns.

Thanks for the help!

48 ... much better than 2 .

Normally lapping involves applying pressure while performing back and forth action for best results , rather than all in one direction .

What's on the other end of the crankshaft ?(edited)

Wesley Ambrosini /

Just do it till it fits snug.

I've lapped until putting the flywheel on and giving it a nice knock with a rubber mallet basically locks it in without the nut.

> Wesley Ambrosini Wrote:

> -------------------------------------------------------

> Just do it till it fits snug.

>

> I've lapped until putting the flywheel on and giving it a nice knock

> with a rubber mallet basically locks it in without the nut.