1975 Puch Maxi S Issues

Hey Ya'll - so first a bit of backstory. I am totally new to peds, and engines in general for that matter - so if it sounds like I don't know what I'm talking about - I don't. A few months ago I picked up a 1975 maxi s from my neighbor in rural Vermont and spent a few weeks stripping it down to the frame, and cleaning every part - learning by doing, as I went. Once it was all back together I was surprised that it ran! Its been a great couple months with some minor troubles, but its been running great with a top speed of 30mph, 14mm pos NT carb that previous owner put on, tecno boss pipe, other than that its stock except for I did a sealed bearing conversion. still have the old plug, which has been fine the last few months. A few days ago after a long ride I began having issues. The power was way down, and fluctuating at full throttle. Thought it was a gas flow issue, it wasn't. Took it apart, cleaned carb, and found some light scoring on inside of cylinder and piston, but to be clear it never seized or died on me - unless it was a pretty subtle soft seize. Now it runs but idles bad and only with the idle screw way too tight. Drained the fuel and going to try remixing it. I have been running the same 50:1 fuel mixture the last few weeks though so nothing had changed mixture wise. I also re did the wiring myself a month or so ago so it could be an electrical issue but has been fine till yesterday.

Any thoughts/where do I start? I probably did something stupid and have no problem admitting it. Overall, can't believe how much fun mopeds are and I'm excited to make more stupid mistakes and learn while making them.

Video right here:

[url=

][/url]

Cheers everybody!

Re: 1975 Puch Maxi S Issues

Wesley Ambrosini /

Air leak somewhere