Moto Guzzi Rebuild How to and other BS

DSC_0254.JPG

Alright so I'm gonna dump a ton of pictures and try to do my best at somewhat of a step by step how-to rebuild a robin/benelli g2 engine. These are cool engines and are pretty simple to rebuild. I was a noob when I did mine and yall can too (had to do it twice, overheated bearings during install first time). Now these pictures are from 3 different periods of time that I messed with this bike so don't get confused as photo quality and backgrounds change. Hopefully this'll get some of you to crack them cases and do a rebuild.

RobinDiagram.png

This is where everything is gonna go. Those long lines with the c ends are the large circlips.

You're gonna want to take all the extras off before you remove the engine from the frame. DO NOT use a piston stop because of the angled plug hole. Either use the rope trick or a holder. Remove your intake (2 nuts) and exhaust (2 nuts and one mounting bolt). Next yer flywheel...

DSC_0877.JPG

Re: Moto Guzzi Rebuild How to and other BS

This a dansi 101441 flywheel and uses a 19x1 puller

DSC_0879.JPG

Remove the three flat head screws that hold that big ol' ring/cover surrounding the stator. Besides protecting the stator that ring holds the stator wires in place.

DSC_0320.JPG

Then remove the 2-3 screws that hold the stator itself in place and remove.

Disconnect the stator wires from the wires coming from the frame. Set electronics aside.

DSC_0918.JPG

Drain your oil if you didn't already and remove all the bolts holding the transmission cover on. It helps to drive them through a piece of cardboard in the order you took them out.

DSC_0280.JPG

As mentioned 100 times before these use the same surflex clutches that e50's use. Use the rope trick to remove the nut holding the clutch on. Use a clutch puller to pop that fucker off there.

DSC_0286.JPG

Don't forget the little woodruff key. If you lose it, it's not a big deal.

DSC_0292.JPG

Remove the Circlip

DSC_0293.JPG