Vespa Grande air leak help DR kit

Just installed a 43mm DR kit on my grande with a polini head. Bike fires up and idles just fine but when I give it throttle it only goes about 15mph. I'm fairly new to mopeds but it sounds like a possible air leak?? I lapped the decomp valve on the new head and am running it without a gasket. Using the base gasket that came with the kit. I also sprayed carb cleaner on the head and base seal and the engine didn't seem to bog down.

Was wondering if anyone knows a good place to start with troubleshooting this issue. (edited)

Re: Vespa Grande air leak help DR kit

Did you change your jetting?

Yeah I’m running a 68 jet right now. I have a proma circuit pipe as wel.

If your using that aluminum base gasket that could be your problem. I use the felpro gasket material from the auto parts store to cut base gasket. Soak it in 2 stroke oil then assemble.

Using the paper one that came with the kit. Gonna trouble shoot more later today but I’ll give the fel pro stuff a shot as well.

Another thing to check is the wires coming off the internal coils. Every Vespa motor I’ve worked on has had brittle or broken wires coming from those coils. You can just solder a new piece of wire in.

Ok awesome, thanks for all the pointers man. Bike was runnin fine prior to kitting it, so I’m assuming me taking it apart and putting it back together caused a leak somewhere. I’ll play with it more and hopefully be able to fix it.

new crank seal? theres only one underneath stator plate. No head gasket is fine but both cylinder n head should be sanded for good seal. also, if u use paper for base(something squishy) and u take it off u can see its imprint and what sections (thin) might be marginal for sealing. spraying w fluid all over all sides will find your leak.

Richard Eberline /

Piston arrow, maybe 180 degrees off. Let me know what the instruction say.