Sachs flywheel

Is the O.D. of a Sachs 505 flywheel 360mm?

I’m looking to set the timing after installing new stator. I’ve marked TDC and need to set the advance. Thanks

Re: Sachs flywheel

> Tim Doll Wrote:

> -------------------------------------------------------

> Is the O.D. of a Sachs 505 flywheel 360mm?

>

> I’m looking to set the timing after installing new stator. I’ve marked

> TDC and need to set the advance. Thanks

Have you measured it ?

The stamped on the flywheel lines up perfectly with TDC ,the M on the flywheel is 26degrees advanced . The Sachs manual says it should be 2.5 - 3.0.If I’m thinking right that equaits to 25-30 degrees. ,is this when the points should start to open or be fully open ? I’m new at this so please point me in the right direction. Thanks.those figures are in mm.

the 505 is, yep. it's quite handy cuz 1mm circumference is 1 degree. you want the M to be when they very barely first start to open, almost impossible to see by eye. should be fully open by the TDC "0" mark, but that's less critical.

i've never tried to time by piston height, (mm before TDC) on a sachs cuz the angled plug makes the math complicated, while degrees on the flywheel is very easy.

I wasn’t sure about the timing but you have made it very clear,think I’ll try 20, I be a good lighted magnifying glass that should allow me to see when the points begin to open. Thanks again