1980 Garelli super sport xl won’t start

Hey! So excited to finally have a moped. But I’m having some issues. I got it from my buddy and he said it turned over every time they tried it but it’s been sitting for a while. I’ve been pedaling like crazy to get it started, all it does it pudder, like it’s kind of starting and every once in a while it will do a louder pudder like it’s about to turn over. But as much as I pedal it won’t turn. I’m new to this and not sure what’s goin on, ive drained my knowledge resources and need help. And I’ve check the wiki, I dk how to troubleshoot my issue.

Here’s what I’ve done so far. Drained the tank, put new gas and 2 stroke oil, made sure the petcock? is working, it is. Checked the spark plug, it was wet and the engine seemed to be flooded. So I took the carb apart and cleaned it, put it back on, same issue. I check the spark plug to make sure it was sparking, blue spark. I noticed gas in the air cover, and some dripping underneath the carb, so I tightened everything down more. Also, it’s a rainy night, not sure if that affects it. I think it’s having flooding issues.(edited)

Re: 1980 Garelli super sport xl won’t start

Float is sticking? Plug is wet with fuel? Fix the float/needle valve condition. Clean the needle valve seat with a q-tip and toothpaste. Make sure the float isn't broken or cracked, not floating.

Always have a new spark plug handy.(edited)

I‘be taken the carb apart twice now, I guess I’ll take it apart again and do the qtip trick, I thought it looked fine. I just got a new spark plug. The plug is wet with fuel. Still same issue.(edited)

Wel I just did the q tip trick and it’s still not firing. Hmmm

Is it timed right? You can have spark, but if it is not sparking at the right time it does not matter, how are your points?

I have no idea, I guess I’ll wiki that. Is that hard to do?(edited)