1976 Motobecane 50 stalls when it gets warm

My 1976 Motobecane Mobylette 50 (non-variated) runs absolutely great when it is cold. Starts right up and goes for 1 - 3 miles, then she starts bogging down, and will stall as soon as I come to a stop. If I then wait 15 minutes she will start right up again?

Thoughts? I am very new at 2 stroke mopeds.

Thanks!

Moby 1.jpg

Re: 1976 Motobecane 50 stalls when it gets warm

It is very stock. It has a 54 jet in it.

Could be an air leak. Maybe a crank seal or the decomp?

Tighten up the head bolts a little, I was chasing a similar broblem on my Moby that was a loose head bolt

Sounds like a bad condenser to me, see Wiki for how to mount an external one, under Rebel Moby.

Rick Bergsma /

> Stephen Keller Wrote:

> -------------------------------------------------------

> Sounds like a bad condenser to me, see Wiki for how to mount an external

> one, under Rebel Moby.

Bad condenser for sure

Thanks guys! New condenser on the way (Treats has an 18% off sale right now!).

Side note, I was chasing the carb adjustment route (I thought it was running lean and getting too hot), so I bought a Delorto 15.15 for it. Should I install that as well? My main goal is RELIABLE performance, not necessarily more speed.

Best plan for the condenser is to upgrade to a external mounted condenser. If you scored yourself a stock condenser you can mount it on the back of the Novi 120x magneto (look on the back of the plate and use a small self tap screw). OR you can use a mid-1960s GM-Delco 6 cylinder (or similar vintage VW-Bosch) condenser and mount it to the lower external coil's mounting stud. Any of those you just need to splice the pigtail into the grey wire that goes to the external coil, then disconnect the blueblack wire going from the original condenser to the points.

While inside the magneto it is a good opportunity to clean and gap the points at index to 0,4mm and set the timing to 1,5mm BTDC.