Leaky tranny on chain and wheel

Hi

I'm new to moped world and it appears that my 2002 Tomos Sprint has a leak from the left pedal. I've read somewhere that there's a bolt I can buy that has a rubber gasket on it to replace a stock one that is leaky.

Dose any one have know where to buy this? Or what it's called?

Would it be possible to just put a gasket sealer on the existing bolt?

Or use Lucas transmission stop leak fixed on it?

15578458482505891892528864062678.jpg

Re: Leaky tranny on chain and wheel

todd amundson /
991C3E43-4579-44FF-990D-550CE68A6F55.png

Moped Lar (OFMC) /

They all leak over time. Just keep a close eye on your tranny fluid level.

Cool thanks. Any thoughts on putting Lucas stop leak in the tranny? My is a bit slow to shift.

That bolt is expensive. Would it be possible to find a similar one at a hardware store and a rubber gasket? Especially a flanged nut?

Brandon Weiss (Detective brandon to you) /

> Terry Dorman Wrote:

> -------------------------------------------------------

> That bolt is expensive. Would it be possible to find a similar one at a

> hardware store and a rubber gasket? Especially a flanged nut?

Its a specialty item, it's not an unreasonable cost.

Instead you could disassemble the engine and replace the internal main drive gear, which is about $100 new...or you could have the needle bearings in your drive gear pulled and replaced with a new O ring between them, which would be no less than $100...

Or you could ride it as is and be a victim of the black wheel of death that tomos are infamous for.

Stop leak is not recommended, it will mess up your transmission.

I fell it is totally worth the $20. About the only think to slow the leaking. I have seen fresh bottom end rebuilds start the black tire of death after one ride.

Wow thanks for the info.

I just bought the bolt. Thought the stop leak would help too but guess not.

Is there anything I can do for slow shifting?

> Terry Dorman Wrote: