Morini M1 Sprocket Stuck - Shimmed Incorrectly?

Just picked up a Sebring, in pieces, with a Morini M1 engine, rebuilt by the previous owner, but not installed.

I noticed the output gear (dunno what its called in Morini terms) #80 was absolutely impossible to spin by hand. Thought hmm that cant be right. I popped off the clutch cover, and removed the clutch and bell. I was able to turn the countershaft? #52 and output shaft #80 but veryyyy difficult.

Decided to mount and run the engine and see what the deal was. Runs fine but sounds like an engine that needs bearings. Takes very high RPM to get the output gear spinning. Obviously not right.

Today I opened the engine back up. As soon as I loosened the case half bolts from the magneto side, the output gear was no longer stuck, and spun well. So what's the deal? I have no experience with these engines and I've seen some mention of shimming. Is it possible the case halves were simply torqued too tight?

m1.gif

Re: Morini M1 Sprocket Stuck - Shimmed Incorrectly?

Sounds like a bunch of shims are out of place. It's so easy to forget their position and which ones go where if a person isn't super careful.

The manual should have a step by step listing of assembly/disassembly for you.

Don't start it up and wear on it until you have it right. Make sure all parts are lubed with 20 or 30W non-detergent oil and it is filled to the correct level.

Those are very dependable,tough engines. I just hope it hasn't been hurt too bad.

Yeah I have it open on my bench right now. Ill get it the rest of the way apart and see if I can't find something out of place. Thanks.

Took the whole thing apart and attempted to assemble according to the diagram. The result: still stuck.