A3 weak spark

I bought a 84 silver bullet it has a new plug coil and condensor and points. but the spark is almost nothing. When I put a screwdriver in the plug wire and ground it to the head I see a tiny little spark. With the plug in and grounded to wheat I can only see a spark in the dark. Is my ignition coil on bad ? Any ideas ? I’m new to this.

Re: A3 weak spark

Did they put the correct coil on it? Have you set the new points at .014"? Fourteen thousandths of an inch.

Ducati ignition? Do you have a yellow, blue and a black wire coming out of the stator?

Well I’m not sure I bought it from a guy that put it on. It’s orange and black. I’m a little suspicious of it though because I can’t find the orange and black ones for an a3.

image.jpg

Yes

> Josh Kiser Wrote:

> -------------------------------------------------------

> Well I’m not sure I bought it from a guy that put it on. It’s orange and

> black. I’m a little suspicious of it though because I can’t find the

> orange and black ones for an a3.

That's a Chinese bike coil. It will work though. Why is that blue wire in hooked on the stator plate? Post a better pic of the stator plate. I'm thinking the blue wire is your problem.

By the looks of it , that coil is the least of your problems .

Definitely double check all the wiring for correct path .

And , be sure that all connections are scratch tight and clean .

I don't even see a primary ignition coil on your bike. How could you be getting spark at all?

Pics

6B27227F-BECA-4B5E-86C8-DE1DFD8096C6.jpeg

0CFAFE8E-15E2-41FB-9B16-2D7FF1D2824F.jpeg

Points just don't look right to me. Are you sure they're the right ones for that ignition?

Also,replace that screw on the points hold-down.

^i think dons onto something

https://www.treatland.tv/tomos-A3-A35-OEM-points-stator-p/oem-tomos-stator-223171.htm

u want the points for cw direction i think, just look at your felt pad cw. and the treats stock stator.