Weird Hobbit Problem

So I have a strange problem with my moped, a 1983 Honda Hobbit (PA50-II). It starts perfectly fine while cold, and it rides fine for as far as you want to ride it. But then, if you turn it off and try to start it warm, it's a no-go. If it was an especially short ride, it will start , but you really need to crank it. Very bizarre.

I've been consulting with a local moped expert (also member on this site) who has been super helpful, but this issue has us stumped, and by us, I mean it has him stumped, because I'm a novice and stumped by eeeeverything anyway. Anyone have suggestions? What could let a moped start fine cold, but then stop it from starting when warm? Keeping in mind, there's no noticeable problems with performance when running.

I'd appreciate any idea (even crazy far shots) about what might be the cause. I work part time and just bought a bunch of new tools. I'm ready to get in there and get dirty, but I've had my fill of walking home from places that I've ridden to...

Re: Weird Hobbit Problem

Have you tried a brand new sparkplug. Also consider new main seals on the crank. The case leak might manifest when all warmed up. The engine runs with the case leak when warm but won't restart because the case pressure is too low. Those are my two guesses. Which means if it were my bike I would probably do those two steps first. Both are relatively easy and could be done without pulling the engine.

What are your engine temps at failed restart.

David Lewis /

Replaced the spark plug. Did not replace the crankcase seal. Looks like it's $10 or less, shipped, so there's no reason not to try. Thanks for the tip.

A couple questions:

- Engine temps? How do I check that? (Sorry if there's an obvious answer.)