Vespa Piaggio Si Monte Carlo

Amit Yacobovitch /

Hello All!

I have recently started to repair my dad's old Vespa Piaggio Si scooter. I'm doing it mainly to preserve his name as he died 2 months ago, and I need your help.

I should mention that I have no experience in such things, but I have good hands and I believe I can handle it.

So the thing is like that:

The scooter is really old and it was sitting outside for almost 4 years, suffering cold and hot weather. Also, I had no idea what was the model at first, only knew it was a Piaggio, because it has no papers or license, and Iv'e haven't searching the VIN numbers yet.

I have found the model, Vespa Piaggio Si, but than it turned out it was a special edition, the Vespa Piaggio Si Monte Carlo.

So I've dismantled it completely to parts and now I want to know how to clean all the parts, as I send the frame to be painted and removing all the rust.

I want to know if anyone know were can I buy parts to this scooter, and I need to know how to open the front variator, it has a Aum larger than 23 MM! (Iv'e managed, with my last powers, only open the rear variator).

Also, Iv'e noticed (and it is more clear to see in the Si edition that there is one down there) that it has an empty space near the motor, probably for a suspension. But I couldn't tell because it has 2 rear ones, and only in the Si Iv'e saw it (in online pictures) and not in the Monte-Carlo edition.

Thanks you all, I really need help... :)

P.S the scooter before Iv'e dismantled it:

(edited)

Re: Vespa Piaggio Si Monte Carlo

Double Trouble Dan /

Amit Yacobovitch /

Hey, I should've mentioned that I've been reading this stuff, and I pretty much know the basics. The uniqu shifing gears and such...

My main problem right know is how to open the front variator case, it has an AUM larger than 22 mm (that I does'nt have right know in my home) and probably 24 mm or something like that.