Learning Moped Repair

I recently got the Moped bug after riding once and went ahead and bought a 1998 Tomos Targa LX. Rode it around a few times and now it doesn't want to stay running. I've been reading over the forums looking for a solution and it appears that in general mopeds really have a few very common issues that you walk through when dealing with them. I've downloaded the shop manual for my model which walks through this too.

My problem though is that I have very little mechanical experience in general and things that I'm sure other people take for granted like saying "change your spark plug" "it's the condensor" or "clean the carb" are just pretty foreign to me.

I'm really trying to find out if there's any courses, trainers, or anyone else who can work with beginners to teach them this kind of thing. I'll pay someone who's local to teach me the ropes if needed, thanks,

Re: Learning Moped Repair

Start here, Fred's Guide is a good place to start. Wiki has a lot more in it. .http://www.mopedarmy.com/wiki/Category:For_Newbies