2005 Streetmate. NO SPARK

Shawn Martin /

I made another post several weeks ago about this thing dying but it wasn't accurate and I just want to start over with what Ive found and more detailed info.

I have fuel and new spark plug. But when I connect the plug to the plug wire and touch it to the engine I get zero spark 95% of the time when kicking the pedal. Every once in a great while I might a get a very weak one. I have this hot wired since I lost the key 2 years ago and it has ran great the whole time.

How I have it hot wired goes like this... I disconnected the white connectors inside the storage compartment that goes to the key/ignition and put a cutoff paper clip inside the other connector bridging the PINK and YELLOW wire. So I rechecked the connection and wiggled the clip, removed, reinserted it. No luck. Should I just completely cut that connector off and tie the pink and yellow? I'm good with car engines but I have little experience with electrical stuff on this moped. Where should I go from here? What to check, what to do? I don't want to haul this to a motorcycle repair shop

Re: 2005 Streetmate. NO SPARK

Shawn Martin /

Don't know if this matters for wiring purposes (grounds, fuse) but the brake light, turn signals, headlight, all work. (edited)

Shawn Martin /

Tried to do some research so I'm going check the resistance from the plug wire. And disconnect the kill switch to see if its grounding out the CDI.

But any help would be great. (edited)

Shawn Martin /

I'm not making progress and getting frustrated. At this point I have a 45 mph Streetmate that I'm about to completely tear apart down to the nut and bolts and sell it piece by piece. So if I don't get any response in the nest couple of days.. Look for parts!

Sell it to me! HaHaaa! So you know the CDI is good? don-ohio

Shawn Martin /

No.. thats why I need help. I don't know the correct way to check it.