lots of laura m48 questions from a n00b

Randy Reddell /

ok, so i have a 1977 Batavus HS50. It has the Encarwi S25 carb on it. Got it for $250 thought it was a pretty good deal! But it needs some work. I'm very new to this, so any help is great, sorry if these questions may seem silly.

1. It had no spark when i got it, cleaned the points, carb, and exhaust, got a new spark plug, boot and wire, and she fired right up! Was running okay (not full power, topping out at 25mph, should be 30) until today. Went into the store, came out, and it won't get a spark again. Not sure what it could be, any thoughts?

considering buying new points and ignition coil, is it worth it or am i just overlooking something stupid?

2. The carb is leaking gas when petcock is off. Cleaned the carb out, the float and pin seem clean and good. Just ordered a new petcock, will that fix it or could it be something else?

3. Speaking of carbs, i was considering getting the 60cc kit motomatic makes and getting a bigger carb. Unfortunately everywhere seems to be out of the 15mm MLM intake and the only one I can find is the 18mm one (https://www.treatland.tv/MLM-batavus-M48-VM18-clamp-style-intake-PHBG-p/motion-left-intake-148.htm) Would I be able to put that onto a stock laura m48 motor and then just get an 18mm carb? is that too big? will i need to do anything special to make it fit?

4. Is there anywhere I can buy a new clutch for this thing?

Thanks for any help!

Re: lots of laura m48 questions from a n00b

Double Trouble Dan /

First try the old spark plug . sometimes they fail. You should gap the points and spray them with contact or brake cleaner. Then make sure that the new plug wire is making contact with the ends.

I'll leave the carb questions to the experts.

♣Slew Foot♣ /

way too big of a carb, if it was doing 25 it was running top speed.