Re: 1980 Vespa Grande, no fuel

Hugh Goldspiel /

Why don't you chill out? Huh?

Hugh Goldspiel /

I think my grande will beat yours cheetachrome

Hugh Goldspiel /

Isn't this fun? Isn't this what were here to do ? I've been doing porting work on vespas for over 20 years. You don't know what I've developed or what I'm running. Would you like to put your money where your mouth is and race? Say for $1,000? Winner takes all?...

Downhill Harvey (OFMC) /

^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^

Hugh Goldspiel /

Poser

Aimee Delin /

Steve Clark Wrote:

-------------------------------------------------------

> Watch out for one thing with the drill starter,

> sometimes when it starts the nut might fly off

> with the drill attached, don't loose it or the

> washer if there is one.

Wow no joke, I sprayed fuel into the cylinder via the plug hole, put the drill to it, and it fired up like a bat out of hell (carb removed so it was beyond wide open) the bolt, washer, and "harmonic balancer"? shot off with the harmonic rolling a good way across the yard.

One bad Cadillac!™ Wrote:

> I still can't tell if you just cleaned the carb

> many times, or in fact did a rebuild. If you just

> cleaned the 30 plus year old carb parts many

> times, you need to rebuild it instead because you

> can suspect all 30 year old carb parts including

> the intake seal. And if you did not rebuild it,

> it'll never be a reliable machine once it is

> running.

I rebuilt it with new seals and jets, reused the casting, throttle, and float/needle.

Hugh Goldspiel Wrote:

> You'll know what I'm talking about when your crank

> taper breaks off, or you loose a ton of speed

> because you tweaked your crank out if true. Then

> what are you going to do with a bike that has a

> broken crank?