Qt50 79 will idol but stalls as soon as I touch the throttle.

Michael Blennerhassett /

I'm only new to the game will I need a new gasket if I pull the carburettor apart? Do you think its a blocked jet or something else? I'm going to install a clear fuel line and fuel filter tomorrow.

Any feed back will be much appreciated.

Re: Qt50 79 will idol but stalls as soon as I touch the throttle.

Moped Lar (OFMC) /

If you're new to mopeds, Read Fred's Guide in the WIKI.....http://www.mopedarmy.com/wiki/Fred%27s_Guide

Yeah you just need to clean the carburetor.

Your main jet is clogged, 5 to 1 odds.

You don't need to buy anything besides a can of carb cleaner.

If its the first time you are doing it have a buddy there to make sure you don't leave anything out.

Luckily its a pretty easy carburetor to clean.

Just pull it off the bike. You can even leave the top on if you want. pull the bowl off, clean it out maybe with carb cleaner and a toothbrush, then unscrew the main jet.

You are going to need like a spun out brake cable or some kind of tiny wire to poke through the main jet.

There are plenty of videos on youtube.

Not sure if there are any QT50 specific videos but any Jog or Zuma carb is going to be almost the same thing.

Air leak. Possibly by the reed valve or carb.

Michael Blennerhassett /

Thank you so much for the advise! I will pull it apart today and post my findings.

the stock exhaust on these likes to get clogged up; eventually preventing it from running. i have had it happen on both of my yamaha Towny engines (same pipe).

while swapping out the fuel line, check both petcock positions for fuel flow

Michael Blennerhassett /

Ill have a look at that i just cleaned out the carb and am trying to get it running now so I'll take it off will it need a new gasket?

Ant tips for tuning the carb? I had it idling for 30 seconds then it stalled

Michael Blennerhassett /