Peugeot 103

Charles Sullivan /

Have a 70's? vintage Peugeot 103 moped that I would like to have running, but have zero information / knowledge on where to start. Would appreciate any references / resources to boot strap me into wind in my face. Also, if there is a mechanic / enthusiast in the Sacramento, CA area, please drop me a note. Absolute moped newbie here, but do know a screw from a nail. Thanks in advance. :-)

Re: Peugeot 103

Post up pics of the bike and see if anyone would agree to help. Could be simple, could be a lot to get a bike that has not run in years road worthy.

You would need to bring the bike and leave it. Most guys that respond to people wanting repairs are trustworthy and arnt going to steal your bike.

clean the tank, replace the petcock (probably), take the carb off and clean it first...

my 103 was in pretty bad shape when I got it but ya only need to make sure you have 3 elements in place...

fuel delivery

spark (at the right time)

air supply

if you keep that in mind then things start to make sense...

Brandon Compton /

Before you start cleaning everything, take your spark plug off and replace it with a new plug like an NGK B7HS, and put a few drops (I usually put a little under a cap full, and try to spread on top of the piston to make it even) of two stroke directly on the piston before you check for compression and spark. Give the two stroke oil a few moments to leak in there, then turn the flywheel, that brass or silver thing on the right sight and see if you are to move the piston. If so, then take the spark plug off and hold it against the head of the cylinder, and have a friend pedal the bike, and see if it produces spark. Best to do this in a dark area so you can see the spark.

If so, then move on to what Matt said, and clean your tank and carb, then replace those fuel lines. (edited)

Alternately, you can hold the spark plug in your hand and see if it shocks you.

Kidding, don't do that.

Charles Sullivan /

Fellas,