Tomos Clutch Spring Advise

Tara Titsoff /

I want to upgrade my clutch springs on my Tomos Sprint. Acceleration, and ridability are my main considerations more than durability.

What I have on hand besides stock springs, are two 20 lb springs, and one 25 lb spring.

Considering the springs I have, how would you set the clutches up?

I also will be installing new clutch shoes at the same time.

Re: Tomos Clutch Spring Advise

I'd do the 25lb on the 1st gear and a 20 on the 2nd gear.

Tara Titsoff /

Grey L Wrote:

-------------------------------------------------------

> I'd do the 25lb on the 1st gear and a 20 on the

> 2nd gear.

Thanks for the reply Grey. I have zero experience with this, but that was my first impulse just thinking about it.

Then I started second guessing myself, and thought about doing just the opposite, thinking it would delay the shift to second longer?

I mentioned it on that other thread of yours that I use 30lb on both clutches. I like the 30lb a lot, but you probably wont like it on a stock-ish setup, so the 25/20 like Grey mentioned is probably your best bet. Just my 2 cents.

Tara Titsoff /

Josh Cranston Wrote:

> I mentioned it on that other thread of yours that

> I use 30lb on both clutches. I like the 30lb a

> lot, but you probably wont like it on a stock-ish

> setup, so the 25/20 like Grey mentioned is

> probably your best bet. Just my 2 cents.

Thanks Josh. That's 2 out 2 for putting the heavy spring on 1st.

So you guys like to get more rpm before 1st gear hooks up?

Hey Josh, with your 30 lb springs, what's your bike like when you take off from a stop. Does it have to rev real high to start moving?