motor swap?

hello everyone, im a going to say this right off the bat... im a total newbie to this so please take it easy thanks.

to start off i have gotten a moped from my dad wich he got from his grandfather and its been sitting in a garage for over 20 years, so it doesnt start. i do not know whats wrong with it but my dad said it is probably electical and it didnt start when he put it away.

my question is with it being a motobecane, 1977 (i think), and having a pedal motor, is it possible to take the whole motor and pedals, everything off of it and put maybe like an 80cc dirtbike motor on it?

my second question is, if this is possible how would i go about this. im figuring ill have to put new brakes and a clutch on it as well??

the gas tank is part of the frame and im not sure how the brake system works, like i said im new to this, im more than happy to sit and read up on how to do this, if its possible. so let me know what you think is it possible and how would i go about it, or is it a tougher job than it seems to me and i should just leave it alone???

thanks for reading :)

Re: motor swap?

♣Slew Foot♣ /

it would be a hell of alot easier and cheaper to fix it. then mod it into a monstrousity.

first is the right way, then the quick way.

also the fuel system needs going over start at the tank, petcock, then carb.

if it is orange or yellow it is an older one and 6v.

the brake light circuits have to work for it to start

the zenor diode is the weakest link, then the condensor.

http://www.mopedarmy.com/wiki/Main_Page

http://www.mopedarmy.com/wiki/Fred%27s_Guide

http://www.mopedarmy.com/wiki/Category:Motobecane

Moby_wiring_schematic.jpg
Moby_hard_wired_schematic.jpg
Gurtner_carb_explosion.jpg

you want to hack on this ped?

put the tools down and back away before someone gets hurt.

go buy a amf roadmaster, all pro, or something to hack up.

why not impossible to do the mod you're suggesting, i'll put $$ it never happens.