Discoloration on the pipe at the exaust port?

I have a PACER SS with a Morini Mo1 engine. I've been running this bike all summer. The engine started with 206 miles on it and I'm up to about 284. Roughly put 80 miles on the bike.

Anyhow, the chrome stock exaust pipe was bolted on but is no longer chrome towards the exaughst port. The end that is connected to the cylinder (forgive me it;s late and i'm not using correct terms) has like a burnt look to it now. It's dark and stained and not shiney chrome anymore. Why is this? IS this guaranteed to happen and should it happen or is there an issue?Can this be prevented? Do i need to put a new gasket on there? is trickling oil burning or something? Wat causes this and should i be concerned? The engine case has fresh motor oil in it, the spark plug is new.

Even though I have been tinkering and riding for over 3 years I am still a rookie at all this. Thanks!

p.s. What can i use to clean it? carb cleaner?

Re: Discoloration on the pipe at the exaust port?

normal.

pipes are going to blue up and get dirty quick.

steel wool .. blue off.. and mop and glow are your friends.

just what happens when the metal gets repeatedly searing hot like that. esp chrome. the pipe on my Batavus is like that. steel wool like Drew said. take most of it off but thats just what happens to a pipe

Probably Fred /

Lou C Wrote:

-------------------------------------------------------

> I have a PACER SS with a Morini Mo1 engine. I've

> been running this bike all summer. The engine

> started with 206 miles on it and I'm up to about

> 284. Roughly put 80 miles on the bike.

>

> Anyhow, the chrome stock exaust pipe was bolted on

> but is no longer chrome towards the exaughst port.

> The end that is connected to the cylinder (forgive

> me it;s late and i'm not using correct terms) has

> like a burnt look to it now. It's dark and stained

> and not shiney chrome anymore. Why is this? IS

> this guaranteed to happen and should it happen or