1985 Garelli questions. PLEASE HELP!!

Hey everyone, I just acquired a 1985 Garelli Basic. I'm relatively new to the whole Moped thing but its alot of fun! Upon getting this bike I cleaned the carb and tightened the clutch cable and it fired up, I was impressed. However, after about a week of running it off and on it decided it no longer wanted to kick over. I took apart the whole thing looking for an issue and I believe I found it. The cylinder has grooves...UGH! evidently the previous owner ran it without a filter and sand got all in there and ruined it...I also notices 0 gaskets...yeah I dont really know how it ran either...

So my question is, what do I do? Like I said im very new to this so excuse my ignorance....I obviously want/need a new piston/cylinder...but i dont have a clue where to go or what to get. Ive done some research but Im tired of getting the run around, I want straight answers!

If anyone has any advice please let me know! Thanks

Re: 1985 Garelli questions. PLEASE HELP!!

i dont know if your new or not but here are some basic part sites. 1977mopeds treatland.tv themopedjunkyard

very new, this is my third post actually. i know some of the sites, but i dont know what im looking for...

idk what kind of motor i have, what kind of kit im looking for, what i need to do if i do get a kit...

Post some photos of your engine so we can see exactly what you have there.

Here are some manuals that will help you replace the cylinder and piston:

http://www.mopedcentral.com/images/AmericanGarelliServiceManual.pdf

http://www.mopedcentral.com/images/GarelliEngineServiceManual.pdf

Hopefully the pictures work! here is what i know about it so far:

i believe there is an aftermarket pipe on it, it seems to fit like crap so i came to that conclusion, also its loud as hell. it has a dillorto carb, it says 16/16 on it...im not entirely sure what that means... how do I upjet? what will that do

DSC00787-1.jpg
DSC00788-1.jpg
DSC00789-1.jpg