please someone teach me how to change a fucking inner tube

Christian Giron /

Lets start out that I am, by no means, an idiot. I'm a mechanical engineer and have learned a lot of this stuff very quickly and on my own by searching and asking the right questions. I just can't quite grasp this.

I've changed my stock dry-rotted tomos tires out for pirellis and it went flawlessly.

I consistently have a flat with a gazelle on my hobbit and its a horror story. I used to use tire irons and i'd always end up pinching them.. then.. I learned about the garbage bag trick.

I did the garbage back trick. Got rid of the little metal washer that doesn't quite fit in my wheel and only used one nut to hold it in place.

So I successfully did the garbage bag trick and was ecstatic. There was no way I pinched it this time as I didn't use tire irons. Welp, quarter mile later I'm sliding around on another flat. I didn't pull the inner tube, as I'm about to throw it in the corner and put it in time out, but it looks like the same symptoms as a few of my other flats

When I pulled the last tube, I noticed that some of the tire bunched near the nipple and I guess either push or pulled it in one direction and tore the rubber at the base of the nipple. The first two pictures are of the old tube with the little washer and a nut in place. The last picture is my currently stuck nipple on my hobbit that looks exactly the same as that other tube when it was in.

Why is it doing this? Am I using the wrong size (17x2.25/2.50)? Am I incorrectly using the given washers and nuts that come with the tube?

ARGGGGGHHHHDAHS;LFKASDFLAHSD;FLHSAD;LJFLASDJK;

Re: please someone teach me how to change a fucking inner tube

Your pics didn't post either

Christian Giron /

lol god damnit.

Here are the first three.

Here are ones I just took after I dismounted the wheel.