QT50 wiring newbie - lights and kill switch

Dear All,

I am a brand new owner of a 1980 QT50 - It is mechanically running fine, but has some electrical problems I am trying to address. Problem is that I am a complete newbie to wiring u a vehicle. I can follow instructions, but have very limited experience figuring out what am I actually looking at.

The things I am looking to address are:

1) the left brake lever is not connected to the brake light cables. The brake operates but the light does not light up. It seems I need a clip at the end of one of the wires and plug it in. Correct?

Pictures:

2) the engine kill switch is missing. I have the wire in there, but no switch. Any advice what switch I need to get? Can I get a switch or do I need the whole assembly?

Picture:

3) The turn signals are not blinking. The proper light light up, but stay lit. I have t turn it on and off to simulate blinking. Is this a common problem? Is this a relay? wire The manual provides shorthand for checks, but that did not quite get e anywhere.

Thanks .. and I know I am duping a lot of problems at once and have no experience. I am hoping I can earn how to work on my bike independently.

Re: QT50 wiring newbie - lights and kill switch

you can use any switch for a kill switch, looks like all it needs to do is ground that wire there to kill the bike.

the brake thing is pretty simple, it's an on/off setup. Basically you just need to wire that switch in series with the brake light wires

if the winker lights stay on, most likely its the thermal flasher unit. you'll need a new one but make sure it's 6v. also sometimes if the wires get dirty or corroded it doesnt get enough power to trigger the switch to blink.

in all honesty, non of these are problems i'd even worry about at all. I figure as long as the headlight and taillight work and the bike runs good, it's all good to go.